Why join Toastmasters? | Diane Oatley

Never did I imagine that when I retired I would be so lucky as to find such an astonishing hobby that I would enjoy as much as I enjoy Toastmasters. This amazing programme stimulates my little grey cells, it motivates me, it inspires me, it challenges me and it keeps me young. I love meeting with members who are from all walks of life, different nationalities and cultures, people of all ages, people who simply want to be the best they can be.

I joined Toastmasters in 2007 then had to take a break in 2009 until 2011 due to health issues. I credit the club with helping my recovery. Being surrounded by people with positive attitudes and full of energy was a huge motivation for me to get well and be up the front participating again.

Toastmasters has so much to offer, apart from the huge learning curve we experience by attending the weekly meetings there is also a fantastic social side to the club. Many of us travel to different parts of Europe taking part in the twice yearly speech competitions, workshops and educationals. Some members travel even further, all over the world in fact, to wherever the conferences are being held.

For the price of a cup of coffee a week you can be part of all this! The skills we learn in Toastmasters affect us in every aspect of our daily life. You will become a better communicator, a better leader, a better listener, a better team player and your confidence will soar when you open yourself up to evaluation in the fun and friendly environment called Toastmasters.

Diane Oatley

Leave a Reply

